OC for SS After Party // Keynote Danielle Allen in conversation with Angela Williams-Pitkonen // 08-04-2022

The work Danielle Allen has done with the Democratic Knowledge Project to help educators provide the skills necessary for students to succeed in operating their democracy is inspiring and an excellent topic to be considering as we prepare to return to the classroom. 

What was your biggest takeaway after listening to the conversation between Angela and Danielle?  

Leave a comment below on how you will use the information from her keynote address to prepare for this upcoming school year! 

Top Replies

Parents Reply Children
  • So good! And if I may, do you mind sharing ways that you frontload the newsletter, sharing of your philosophy, etc.? Maybe which site you use to conduct parent surveys?

• During the first week of school, I send home a welcome letter that introduces families to me through who I am as a teacher, my educational journey and philosophy, connection to the school district through my own children, and a podcast between me and a former student answering questions that I often get asked about my educational background. I also include a fun true and false quiz with answers/feedback about me as a person as a way to humanize me.