This approach to Classroom climate is tops!

https://youtu.be/Mxyn1aqGens

Crissy Calera
Grade 6 Humanities Teacher
Abu Dubai

I have been teaching since 1994 and have been intentional about classroom climate that entire time, however the ideas that you encapsulate in ACEs really get at the heart of what most teachers are trying to achieve.  I want to make sure that new teachers see this.  Also, while you teach 6th grade, this feels right for high school as well.  I wonder (see what I did there) if people in this community have examples of how the do each of these elements of the classroom.  

Top Replies

• What a great use of KWL charts! I love the idea of making the connection between past and present in this way.  This last year for our district focused on a year of purpose, The intention was to highlights…

• Great share. This really has me thinking. I teach 9th (Big History Project) and 10th grade (World History Project) and  's approach has a lot more intentionality to it compared to how I…

• I also teach 6th grade, and I love how you connect ancient history to students' daily lives.  I'd love to hear more about your lesson on stone-age technology and Apple.

• I am a new teacher heading into my 3rd year of teaching 6th grade social studies (ancient civilizations). I have just recently stumbled upon OER and your videos/guidance. I really appreciate your perspective and I have learned so much from just the two videos of yours that I have watched. Thank you! Could you share any more of the stories that you use in your social studies classroom to help instill empathy/compassion in your students and help students make relevant connections to the content?

• Hi Caroline! Thank you for your kind words. 

As far as stories to instill empathy/compassion, a lot of what I do is simply getting students to understand that every person in our classroom (and every person they encounter) has a totally unique life experience, and that we need to be sensitive to that.